New director for Cotton Seed Distributors

03 December, 2002

___Cotton Seed Distributors has announced the election of Dalby cotton grower and grain producer, Paul McVeigh, as a new director. There were five nominations for the position._

Mr McVeigh 47, a fourth generation farmer on the Darling Downs, farms 3000 acres at Dalby, and further acreage via family farming partnerships. His major crop is cotton, grown in rotation with corn, wheat and soybeans.

He is also pioneering on-farm aquaculture, having patented a system for the intensive production of silver perch in floating raceway systems. The concept has wide application, and is currently in use in intensive barramundi production at Cairns in northern Queensland.

Mr McVeigh is a past president of the Darling Downs Cotton Growers Inc., and also of Dalby Cotton Week. He is a previous winner of the Jim Beale Service to Industry Award, and is a graduate of the Australian Rural Leadership Program.

He is currently a member of the Queensland Food and Fibre Sciences Innovation Council, and of Vision 2000, whose objective is to transfer waste water from the Brisbane metropolitan area to the Lockyer Valley and the Darling Downs.

In the mid 1990s, as a member of the ARL Program, he participated in a study tour of Singapore, Malaysia and California, and more recently (early 2002) visited Japan to investigate the feasibility of marketing GM-free corn produced on the Darling Downs.

Mr McVeigh has been a trial cooperator with CSD since the mid-1990s, trialling new and established cotton varieties, including new biotechnology, for the benefit of all cotton growers.

Mr McVeigh’s election as a CSD director follows the recent retirement of Frank Hadley and Alan Brimblecombe.

He joins CSD chairman, John Grellman (MerahNorth), Neil Sowerby (Moree), Hugh Holland (Narrabri), Ralph Schulze (CRDC Narrabri), Peter Grahman (Goondiwindi), Paolo Cavazzini (Narromine), and John Blood (Melbourne).

Ralph Schulze, now CSD’s longest serving director (elected in 1967), and Hugh Holland (elected 1993) were re-elected at CSD’s annual general meeting held on May 21.